When you receive medical care—whether it is emergency treatment, routine examinations or on-going therapy—you trust that your care providers are doing everything necessary to restore your health. Unfortunately, that is not always the patient experience. If you have suffered injury or expense because of a care provider’s negligence, you may seek compensation through a medical malpractice claim.
The New Mexico Medical Malpractice Act is the primary legislation defining medical malpractice and the practice of law around it. The Act outlines:
Who may be held liable
A medical malpractice claim may be made against an individual care provider, such as a medical doctor, dentist, chiropractor or psychotherapist, or against an institution, like a hospital or clinic.
Statute of limitations
A medical malpractice claim must be filed within three years of the date of alleged medical negligence.
Compensation for non-economic damages, such as pain and suffering and loss of enjoyment of life, are capped at $600,000. However, compensation for quantifiable damages, like medical expenses and lost wages, is not limited.
The New Mexico Medical Malpractice Act also includes requirements for demonstrating medical negligence, which include expert testimony. An experienced medical malpractice attorney can help you understand everything necessary to move your case forward.
When it comes to medical malpractice, practitioners, healthcare institutions and insurance companies have a lot to lose. They are prepared to fight to minimize their losses. That is why you need an experienced attorney on your side.
The lawyers at Hinkle Law Offices, LLC., have been providing aggressive representation to our clients for more than 25 years. We have handled hundreds of medical malpractice claims, and we will fight for the full compensation you deserve.
Contact us to schedule a free initial consultation with a medical malpractice attorney today.